If you’re reading this, congratulations. Either your Google-Fu is strong (but aimless, since I can’t imagine why anyone would even want to find this place. You lack discipline, young grasshopper. Seek the sage on the mountain – she will gift you with purpose) or I’ve given you the link, which means I trust you enough to let you in on a little secret – I’m writing a novel. BAM.

Specifically, I’m doing it as part of NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month, this super awesome thing all the cool writers are doing), meaning I’ll have the 30 days of November to write a 50,000 word novel from scratch. That works out to 1,667 words a day, a number you might recognise as probably being the word count one of the longer essays you had to write in high school.

I’ve only attempted this once before, at the tender age of ‘sometime-in-my-midteens-I-can’t-really-remember’. I did not finish. Not even close. So this is going to be something of a struggle for me – I like writing, but I’ve never been good at volume. However, since next year I’m commencing a Master’s degree in Writing and Literature, I thought I needed to get back into the swing of writing a lot of words every day. Because spoiler alert – the Writing Master’s requires I do a lot of writing, and I haven’t written anything except children’s musicals for almost three years now.

Which brings me, circuitously, to the purpose of this blog. This is where I will be uploading my 1,667 words a day, every day, for the month of November (barring days away from my computer, naturally – I’m not a wizard). The reason for this is twofold. Firstly, I’ll be writing a lot, quite quickly, so I won’t really have time to spellcheck or edit for myself, so putting my excerpts up here for you to read means that hopefully you’ll be able to find those little mistakes and let me know for later, when I’ll want to edit this bad boy.

Secondly, you’ll be keeping me honest.

I put the impetus on you to check this blog every day. If I haven’t uploaded an excerpt for that day, please, feel free to message me about it. Ask me what I’m doing. Say you can’t wait to read the next part. Say you have my family, and if I don’t upload 1,667 words of novel in the next hour you’re going to start sending me fingers. Say if I upload my 1,667 words for the day on time you’ll send me ten thousand dollars. Send me ten thousand dollars. I am quite poor.

More than a fun writing exercise, this is a chance for me to prove to myself that I actually do have the self-discipline required to write a lot, write often, and (hopefully) write well, and to get into that habit before I have to do it for real-realsies and get marked on it and maybe eventually make a career out of it and junk.

And I’m bringing you in on that. Feel a little proud. Go on, smile a little. I like you. That’s nice to hear, right? I hope so, otherwise I’ve totally misjudged our relationship.

It’s gonna be tough. It’s gonna be long, and arduous. It’s gonna involve a small Australian town, and a wandering stranger, and a pub. It’s gonna involve violence, often reluctant. If I’m very, very lucky – and your standards are low – it might even be good.

So welcome to team ‘Connor Writes a Novel’! (Editor’s note: That’s not the team name. That’s a terrible team name.)  We’re all in this together.

P.S.: This post took me about twenty minutes to write,and more brainpower than I’d care to admit, and the WordPress word count is telling me it’s about 636 words long, including this post script. This is going to be tough.

